Say it out loud and make it S.M.A.R.T.

For me, there’s not much point keeping my goals to myself.  If I set a goal to say… climb Mt. Buffalo in sub-hour by the end of my holiday, I’m much more likely to achieve it if I tell someone what I intend to do; otherwise, it just slides by with no real consequence.

Hmm… is that in itself an insecurity? Why would I not have the drive just to do it myself, regardless of whether or not I tell someone, and regardless of what others might think if I fail? Must think on that. Certainly most leadership and management courses I’ve done, have encouraged me to tell others what I intend to achieve, or at least to write it down for myself or others to check. It’s no different really. Say it out loud and make it S.M.A.R.T.

  • Specific
  • Measurable
  • Achievable
  • Realistic
  • Timely

Well bugger it… there goes my Mt. Buffalo goal.  The ‘S’ and the ‘M’ are easily fulfilled; and ‘A‘ and the ‘R’ are all good until the ‘T’ comes in and completely flips them on their heads… End of the holiday?… no way. Maybe by Easter?  We’ll see.  I’m not ready to say that one out loud yet.

But it does get me back to the original rationale for this post. There’s no way I’ll be climbing Mt. Buffalo in less than an hour when I weigh in excess of 107 kilograms. There’s a lot to be said for being built like Nairo Quintana; and being built like dieselread will generally involve different strengths and require different goals. But there is some sense in setting myself a goal to at least drop under the tonne.

When I stupidly crashed in the first 4km of the B24 in October I weighed in at 98kg and was in fine form (that’s racing weight for me). The busted ribs put me out physically for a few weeks at least but the mental effect of this crash which followed my other stack in Cairns had a more significant effect on my mind. It’s the old, “Why do I bother to put all this work in if I’m going to stack and ruin it all in the main race!”.

Well that’s would fail the attitude test wouldn’t it?

Unfortunately, I have to admit that has been the negative state of my head the last few months; it’s really not good enough. I dropped back riding from 14 hours per week to about 5, ate like a pig and whipped my weight back up to 108kg. Now I get dropped on hills by kids (really little ones) and can’t be bothered getting my arse out of the saddle to jump a log. Lazy, lazy man.

So that has to change.

Those of us into racing bikes know how important it is to have an event on the horizon to keep us motivated. I was thinking on that recently when, quite unexpectedly, I received an invite to be a part of a six man team in the coming Mont 24hr race in Canberra. I was humbled to receive such an invite from an Australian mountain biking legend (not overstated); the Gary Fischer of Australia (maybe a little overstated); the creator of Dickey’s Loop; the motivator of the Urban Loop mountain bike ride. Who wouldn’t want to race with him!?

Anyway… back to the point –

Bruce Dickey is fast; as are his mates Brett ‘the rabbit’ Kellet and Cam Wells (I don’t know the other two guys… but they’re fast too!). So I can tick off that one; not just a race on the horizon but pressure to perform at my best (last time they raced The Mont they won by a mile).

There’s my first S.M.A.R.T. goal…  Race The Mont and win it (28 March 2015).

Out of that one flows others so I say them now to keep me honest –

  • Lose 5 more kilos by mid-February.
  • Race the Gravity 12hr in Bright with Rod (14 February 2015).
  • Weigh in at 98kg by The Mont (28 March 2015)

– and enough for now.

So there you go… I’ve said them out loud and I’ve kept them S.M.A.R.T.

Let’s get it done.

One thought on “Say it out loud and make it S.M.A.R.T.

  1. Nice article Rich, and very glad to see some SMART goals in place there 🙂 Of course there’s little doubt you’ll achieve them solidly! And now you’re making me want to give the Mont a run…hmmm!!

Leave a Reply

