Please come back my old friend

I miss writing.

And I’m lazy.

I titled a ride on Strava the other day, “Words cannot describe how bloody good that was!

Not only did I not bother to actually describe something, I also ended the sentence with an exclamation mark.  My good friends in journalism would be very critical of me (the ones who don’t work at the Herald Sun that is).

I am embarrassed.

Of course words can describe how bloody good that was.  I just have to be bothered thinking about them; and that’s not really very hard.

Sunday to King Lake with the 6am-ers was one of those all encompassing rides. I remember reading this article by Kath Bicknell – When riding is coping – where she passionately discusses the many reasons she has for riding a bike… and boy can she write. Her piece impacted me because of the homogeneous feelings it provoked.  We ride to cope; to get fit, spend time with mates, see the country-side, get us out of bed in the morning, have fun and get from A-B. One thing I know for sure is – if I didn’t ride, I wouldn’t cope.  It’s a mind-saver for me. I do plenty of bizarre thinking (as I describe here) and the time I spend just alone with my thoughts is very important to me.

Sundays ride had it all.  When the alarm pierces the almost freezing air at 5.30am on a Winter morning of 5 degrees, riding is not the preferred first activity. The doona comes to mind… the electric blanket switch… another three hours sleep? But I have never regretted getting out of bed to go for a ride. Conversely, I nearly always regret it when I don’t if it’s contrary to my plans of the night before.

In the case of Sunday, check out what I would have missed –

– and missing this would not have been acceptable. Mates, country-side, fitness, A to B to A again, fun; this ride had it all.  It is truly a blessing to be part of such a fantastic bunch of like-minded blokes.

Like Kath, I ride to cope… if I didn’t ride, I wouldn’t cope.

And fair dinkum, there are so many more reasons to ride apart from the fact that it’s just plain great fun.

________________________________________________

If you can be bothered, here’s the vid from Sunday as well.  If you don’t like the song – sorry… my songs always have to have some relevance and that’s for you to discover. Check out the other videos on my Vimeo channel and you’re sure to find one with a song that excites you.

2 thoughts on “Please come back my old friend

Leave a Reply

