Melbourne School Bands Festival – 27/08/2011

I was so proud today to see all three of my children performing in the Blackburn Primary School Training Band at the Robert Blackwood Hall this morning.  Jack’s been a couple of times but this was the first time for the girls and Jack is helping in percussion for this band.

Be Still my Soul was their signature piece and it quickly put a lump in my throat.  In a band such as this – in any band – this bit of music can be built to a highly emotive piece.  They did an admirable job for grade 4s!

One of my biggest regrets in life is to not have continued with my music.  I hope my children don’t make the same mistake.  At the moment they’re going great guns; I just hope they keep it up.

Opportunities such as this are so precious and I think they actually appreciate that.  Wonderful.

One thought on “Melbourne School Bands Festival – 27/08/2011

  1. How good was that having Lucy and Kate on the end of the row near where you could photograph them. Wish I could have been there. I’d have had more than a lump in my throat – would have been tears as well.
    Mum/Grandma

Leave a Reply

